Friday, May 31, 2024

Run Your Business: Knowledge helps you through the hurdles

Photo: jacoblund/iStock / Getty Images Plus/Getty Images

Photo: jacoblund/iStock / Getty Images Plus/Getty Images

In my March 25 column, I talked about finding myself running on a thin sheet of ice on an early morning, winter run. My first thoughts were to keep myself safe — worried that I might slip, and sprain my ankle or pull a muscle. Thankfully, I figured out how to adjust to the slippery conditions and I was able to safely move forward.

But there are more dangerous things than running on ice. For example, so many drivers I see while running are not paying attention or are staring at their phones. They could easily lose control and crash into me, especially while driving on black ice.

Because of this risk, it would have been easy for me to give up running in the winter. Instead, I learned to look for distracted drivers and wait for them to pass.

There’s always something you can do to adjust.

Many times in life, and especially in business, problems are going to appear out of nowhere — like a truck barreling toward you on a sheet of ice. I’m sure just a few short years ago, none of us could ever have predicted how radically the world would shut down over the COVID-19 pandemic. Problems will always come up out of nowhere.

My lesson learned

Like most kids growing up in the pest control industry, I worked summers at our company every summer. After I graduated from college in the late 1980s, I joined BHB full time. Back then, we were a small pest control business. My dad created our business to specialize in treating urban pest problems in New York City. In those days, that meant we specialized in German cockroaches and rodents, which made up nearly all our work.

One of my first projects was to expand our business to new markets, the suburbs of New Jersey in particular. As you can probably imagine, the pest issues in the suburbs were quite different from those in NYC. We had to learn how to handle a whole new assortment of pests, especially termites.

This was a very difficult time in termite management because the much-relied-upon chlordane had been removed from the market in 1988. I remember going to industry meetings, and instead of the usual shouts and joking, there were just grim faces with everyone unsure what they were going to do.

It could have been easy for me to throw up my arms and say this is too hard. How can we start treating termites when the best product could no longer be used? But just like when you find yourself running on a sheet of ice, you have to find a way to safely move forward.

I knew to successfully take on termite control, with all this turmoil swirling around the industry, I needed to learn everything I possibly could. And learn things I couldn’t learn from books alone, either.

I was so fortunate that one of the best educators in our industry lived and worked in our area — PMP Hall of Famer Dr. Austin Frishman (Class of 2002). I worked with him directly, and he gave me his experience and knowledge on everything I needed to know about termites. With this, we were able to create our termite program with confidence and successfully expand into new markets.

Banned products. World pandemics. Wars. Financial market crashes. Even an invisible sheet of ice. Problems will always find a way to come out of nowhere. Problems that we didn’t start and feel we have no control over. But knowledge is the key. If we take the time to learn the issues, we will find a way to safely take those steps forward.

Have a great run!

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from Pest Management Professional https://www.mypmp.net/2024/05/31/run-your-business-knowledge-helps-you-through-the-hurdles/
Sacramento CA

Know which product to use, where to treat

Greg Pettis

Greg Pettis

As a pest control business owner in addition to my role at Nature-Cide, I always think in terms of opportunity and risk. Sometimes, risk is opportunity in disguise — and when it comes to vector issues such as mosquitoes, there is plenty of both.

For instance, we want to take the opportunity to shut down these biting insects without the risk of hurting people, pets or the environment. My method is to find the sensitive areas on a potential account before servicing it. When I find things that I know are going to be a risk, such as koi ponds, waterways, vegetable gardens or other ongoing conducive conditions for breeding sites, I let customers know we are using green and all-natural products in the form of sprays, granules, baits and mosquito traps. The combination of these tools is an effective way to shut down mosquito populations and stay out of trouble.

Knowing where to treat with which product is something that can and should be learned to give your customers the safest pest management plan while gaining control over the situation. This will be unique to each account you service. Having these tools in your toolbox before these opportunities present is a plus.

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from Pest Management Professional https://www.mypmp.net/2024/05/31/know-which-product-to-use-where-to-treat/
Sacramento CA

BASF: PT Alpine Flea & Bed Bug

IMAGE: BASF

IMAGE: BASF

As pest management professionals (PMPs) know, once fleas and bed bugs move in, they present real concerns for customers because they are difficult to evict. To eliminate active infestations, finding where they hide is essential together with choosing the right treatment, like BASF’s ready-to-use PT Alpine Flea & Bed Bug Pressurized Insecticide. Simply said, it’s one convenient solution for two inconvenient pests. That’s because the pressurized aerosol has three proven active ingredients: Reduced Risk dinotefuran*, which is the primary active ingredient and provides long-term protection; prallethrin for fast knockdown; and pyriproxfen, an insect growth regulator (IGR) active against eggs and larvae.

PT Alpine Flea & Bed Bug Pressurized Insecticide is ideal for bed bug cleanouts. It kills all stages of bed bugs fast, including those that are pyrethroid-resistant, and aids in preventing bed bugs eggs from hatching. Label directions include applications to mattresses, floor coverings and floors, furniture, picture frames and more.

For fleas, PT Alpine Flea & Bed Bug Insecticide offers long-term protection and kills hatching eggs for up to seven months. Use as directed on rugs, carpets, pet beds and around furniture.

Customers will like the fact that PT Alpine Flea & Bed Bug Insecticide is specially formulated to avoid soaking carpets and mattresses and allows for shorter re-entry time to the rooms that were treated. They, and you, can rest easy, knowing that it is an all-in-one-tool for effective flea and bed bug treatments.

PestControl.basf.us

*Dinotefuran, the primary active ingredient in Alpine insecticides, has been granted Reduced Risk status for public health use by the U.S Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).

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from Pest Management Professional https://www.mypmp.net/2024/05/31/basf-pt-alpine-flea-bed-bug-pressurized-insecticide/
Sacramento CA

Thursday, May 30, 2024

Target/MGK webinar to focus on bed bug APM

Tommy Powell

Tommy Powell

Target Specialty Products will host its the next installment of its free, one-hour Business Growth webinar series, titled “Battling Bed Bugs Using Assessment Based Strategies,” on Thursday, June 27, at 1:30 p.m. Eastern. MGK Technical Field Specialist Tommy Powell will provide a comprehensive overview of the history of the common bed bug, covering topics such as customer fears, bed bug biology, and assessment pest management (APM) treatment protocols.

Powell joined the MGK team as a technical field specialist in 2016, and he is responsible for training, field testing, customer support and other internal projects. He received his bachelor and master degrees in urban entomology from the University of Florida.

Prior to MGK, Powell spent 16 years in the pest management industry, including as a technical director for three Top 100 pest control companies. He also held the position of branch manager for one of those companies. “That experience in operations changed his perspective on the pest management industry,” the news release states, “as he realized the value of strong training programs for operators. His current role at MGK gives Tommy the opportunity to pursue this passion for teaching and training in pest control.”

Registration for the webinar is now available.

About Target Specialty Products

With over 80 years of industry experience, Target Specialty Products is a leading value-added solutions and service provider of pest control, vector, turf and ornamental solutions, application and aquatic equipment, supplies and education and training programs. Target Specialty Products serves the vector, pest and turf and ornamental management markets from 44 locations across the United States and Canada.

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from Pest Management Professional https://www.mypmp.net/2024/05/30/target-mgk-webinar-to-focus-on-bed-bug-apm/
Sacramento CA

J. Edwards advises on Central sale to Aurilio Investments

From left are Al Shaffer, Bill Shaffer and Brian Aurilio. PHOTO: J. EDWARDS SERVICES.

From left are Al Shaffer, Bill Shaffer and Brian Aurilio. PHOTO: J. EDWARDS SERVICES.

Aurilio Investments has acquired Murphy, N.C.-based Central Termite & Pest Control; Joey Edwards of J. Edwards Services Inc. represented and acted as exclusive financial advisor to Central Termite & Pest Control on the transaction.

This is Gainesville, Fla.-based Aurilio Investments’ first acquisition in North Carolina, and will allow its business to expand on its full line of services including termite, pest and mosquito services.

Brian Aurilio, president of Aurilio Investments, also now serves as Central’s president. Aurilio has 34 years of industry experience, including founding his own company in 2007.

“We are very excited to welcome the Central Termite & Pest Control team members and customers,” he said in a news release. “Their reputation for customer service is a direct reflection of the experienced team they’ve built. We are now positioned for further expansion in and around North Carolina, Georgia, and Tennessee.”

In a joint statement, brothers and Central co-owners Al and Bill Shaffer explained that it was “important for us to identify a family-based business that would continue with a culture that closely resembled ours, and J. Edwards Services was on target with Aurilio Investments. We are confident that our employees have a long-term career path, allowing them an opportunity for growth and advancement, plus have a broader range of benefits. Aurilio Investments checked all the boxes and with a family culture that mirrors ours.”

About J. Edwards Services Inc.

J. Edwards Services was established to assist pest control and other businesses with growth through mergers and acquisitions. With over 35 years of experience with various corporate conglomerations, orchestrating more than 100 acquisitions and successfully increasing internal revenue growth and profits well into double digits, Joey Edwards now devotes his skills and expertise with small, regional and national companies. Based in Atlanta, Ga., the family-run business also assists companies with revenue growth, increasing profits, sales and marketing.

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from Pest Management Professional https://www.mypmp.net/2024/05/30/j-edwards-advises-on-central-sale-to-aurilio-investments/
Sacramento CA

Distribution Panel discusses product inventory levels at the UPFDA 2024 Spring Conference

The United Producers, Formulators and Distributors Association’s (UPFDA’s) spring conference took place at the Bellagio Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas, Nev., April 23-24, 2024.

The industry distributors panel focused on “Turning Obstacles into Opportunities.” Participants included Tom Forshaw IV, president of Forshaw Inc., and Tom Algeo, director of sales for Target Specialty Products. In this video, they discuss how they are optimizing their inventory levels for their customers.

Read more about the event.

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from Pest Management Professional https://www.mypmp.net/2024/05/30/distribution-panel-discusses-product-inventory-levels-at-the-upfda-2024-spring-conference/
Sacramento CA

Wednesday, May 29, 2024

Syngenta: SecureChoice Mosquito Assurance Program

IMAGE: SYNGENTA

IMAGE: SYNGENTA

Summer is here — bringing not only more sunshine, but also more mosquitoes onto your customers’ properties. The SecureChoice Mosquito Assurance Program from Syngenta can guarantee a reduction in these mosquito populations on a 30- or 60-day treatment cycle, helping you see assured control and reduced technician time.

  • The 60-day treatment protocol features a combination of Demand CS insecticide and Archer insect growth regulator (IGR), which provides a fast knockdown of adult mosquitoes and disrupts the mosquito life cycle.
  • Demand CS at a lower use rate is recommended for the 30-day mosquito treatment cycle.
  • The Demand CS + Archer Multipak is offered as a cost-effective solution to control mosquitoes.

Featuring the active ingredient lambda-cyhalothrin, Demand CS offers up to 90 days of control of more than 30 pests, including mosquitoes, ticks, fleas, ants and cockroaches. With Syngenta’s trademarked iCAP technology, the multiple-sized, lipophilic (oil-dissolvable) microcaps easily adhere to pests’ waxy cuticles, ensuring a quick knockdown and long-lasting control.

Archer, featuring the active ingredient pyriproxyfen, breaks the reproductive cycle of mosquitoes and other labeled pests to prevent them from becoming egg-laying adults indoors and outdoors.

About Syngenta PPM

Based in Greensboro, N.C., the U.S. Syngenta Professional Pest Management division is part of Syngenta Group, a worldwide manufacturer headquartered in Switzerland. Among its many initiatives, Syngenta actively partners with conservation groups around the world to maintain natural environments and eradicate pests that threaten native species. As a developer of innovative pest control products, Syngenta works with conservationists to provide solutions to aid wildlife recovery efforts that help communities boost nature-based tourism and fuel economic growth.

SyngentaPMP.com/Mosquito

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from Pest Management Professional https://www.mypmp.net/2024/05/30/syngenta-ppm-securechoice-mosquito-assurance-program-2/
Sacramento CA

Massey Services acquires 2 Florida companies

LOGO: MASSEY SERVICES

Orlando, Fla.-based Massey Services has acquired both Orange Environmental Services of Orange Park, Fla., and Ridd Pest Control of Miami, Fla.

Orange Environmental Services offered residential and commercial pest control, termite and landscape services in Northeast Florida since 1972. Joey Edwards of J. Edwards Services Inc. represented and acted as exclusive financial advisor to Orange Environment Services on the transaction.

Founded in 2020, Ridd Pest Control of Miami offered residential pest, termite, mosquito and rodent control services in the South Florida region, including Coconut Creek, North Lauderdale, Royal Palm and Palm Aire communities.

About Massey Services

Based in Orlando, Fla., Massey Services was purchased and rebranded in 1985 by the late Harvey Massey, a Pest Management Professional Hall of Famer (Class of 2008). Celebrating 39 consecutive years of profitable growth, Massey Services and its subsidiary organizations employ more than 2,800 team members and operate 2,500 vehicles that provide residential and commercial pest prevention, termite protection, landscape and irrigation services to 800,000 customers from service centers throughout Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Texas, South Carolina, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Virginia and Tennessee.

About J. Edwards Services Inc.

J. Edwards Services was established to assist pest control and other businesses with growth through mergers and acquisitions. With over 35 years of experience with various corporate conglomerations, orchestrating more than 100 acquisitions and successfully increasing internal revenue growth and profits well into double digits, Joey Edwards now devotes his skills and expertise with small, regional and national companies. Based in Atlanta, Ga., the family-run business also assists companies with revenue growth, increasing profits, sales and marketing.

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from Pest Management Professional https://www.mypmp.net/2024/05/29/massey-services-acquires-2-florida-companies/
Sacramento CA

Allergy Technologies: ActiveGuard

IMAGE: ALLERGY TECHNOLOGIES

IMAGE: ALLERGY TECHNOLOGIES

Bed bug prevention is proven and profitable everywhere there’s a bed. Each year, 65 million people are impacted by bed bugs. With only 1 million treatments performed annually, there are 64 million new opportunities to build your bed bug preventive business. ActiveGuard Mattress Liners reports that it is the only U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)-registered product labeled to deliver two-year prevention, outlasting the bed bug life cycle. Product features include:

  1. Kills bed bugs and dust mites in mattresses and box springs
  2. Continuously prevents and controls bed bugs and dust mites for up to two years
  3. Short exposure of only 10 minutes exhibits reduction in feeding (biting) and an inability to lay eggs
  4. Easy to install
  5. Four sizes fit all mattresses and box springs
  6. Enhances, improves and extends any bed bug program
  7. User-friendly label with no signal word or precautionary warnings
  8. Maintenance free – “just set it and forget it”
  9. Extensively lab- and field-tested
  10. Liners are thin, breathable, comfortable and durable
  11. Reduced callbacks preserve revenues

With ActiveGuard, you can reduce callbacks; enhance customer confidence and retention; and increase growth and overall revenue. This is true even in the affordable housing environment, where pest management professionals can create a foothold in an untapped $15 billion market. Life will never be the same for residents and staff in affordable housing communities when you implement the ATAHC Program featuring ActiveGuard, offering a turnkey solution for bed bug control and prevention; cutting reintroductions by more than 95 percent; and streamlining your labor deployment to maximize revenues.

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from Pest Management Professional https://www.mypmp.net/2024/05/29/allergy-technologies/
Sacramento CA

PMP Manufacturer Panel discusses labor challenges at the UPFDA 2024 Spring Conference

The United Producers, Formulators and Distributors Association’s (UPFDA’s) spring conference took place at the Bellagio Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas, Nev., April 23-24, 2024.

Marty Whitford, publisher of Pest Management Professional magazine and vice president of content for its parent company, North Coast Media, moderated the manufacturing panel focused on “Turning Obstacles into Opportunities.” In this video, Whitford interviews James Osuch, vice president of sales for Rockwell Labs; Ryan Klein, vice president of sales for AMGUARD; and Joe Grippi, key account manager for UPL NA Environmental Solutions, about their labor challenges.

Read more about the event.

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from Pest Management Professional https://www.mypmp.net/2024/05/29/pmp-manufacturer-panel-discusses-labor-challenges-at-the-upfda-2024-spring-conference/
Sacramento CA

Tuesday, May 28, 2024

Compass Pest Management acquires PPM

From left are Compass President and CEO Philip Smith alongside Richard Windsor and Marty Putman. IMAGE: COMPASS PEST MANAGEMENT

From left are Compass President and CEO Philip Smith alongside Richard Windsor and Marty Putman. IMAGE: COMPASS PEST MANAGEMENT

On May 1, Compass Pest Management, a Greenville, S.C.-based pest control firm renowned for more than 25 years of dedicated service in Northeast Georgia and South Carolina, finalized the acquisition of Putman Pest Management (PPM), based in Taylors, S.C.

PPM is a veteran-owned company that faithfully served hundreds of residents and businesses in Greenville, Simpsonville, Taylors, Greer, Mauldin, and other neighboring areas in Upstate South Carolina. It has addressed diverse needs such as moisture control, termite remediation, pest and rodent management, among others.

In a news release, PPM co-owners Richard Windsor and Marty Putman expressed their satisfaction with the unification after roughly a year of careful consideration. They will remain vigilant members in the Taylors branch as technicians and administrators, ensuring a seamless transition for their customers.

Windsor said they wanted to unite with a company that embraced PPM’s founding principles: providing excellent service and developing long-lasting relationships with their customers.

“My goal is to be a great resource to Compass after this acquisition,” Windsor said in the news release. “While our customers may see a couple of new faces on occasion, the service will remain the same. I’m looking forward to helping Compass expand its base while continuing to impact our communities with great service.”

Like PPM, Compass Pest Management is a local, family-owned, Greenville firm that has served the Upstate for nearly three decades. When Compass President and Owner Philip Smith started Compass in 1995, his desire was to provide the finest service with care and excellence, just as Marty Putman and Richard Windsor did at Putman Pest Management. In addition to Greenville and Taylors, it has branches in Anderson, S.C., and Cornelia, Ga.

Smith said his desire is to strategically expand the Compass footprint and promote the Compass Pest Management brand along the I-85 corridor. Nicknamed “the Boom Belt,” it is considered to be one of America’s most sought-after regions to live and work.

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from Pest Management Professional https://www.mypmp.net/2024/05/28/compass-pest-management-acquires-ppm/
Sacramento CA

UPFDA Keynote David Crow talks 2024 Presidential Election

The United Producers, Formulators and Distributors Association’s (UPFDA’s) spring conference took place at the Bellagio Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas, Nev., April 23-24, 2024.

Among the keynotes was David Crow, president of D.C. Legislative and Regulatory Services and author of The Pale-Faced Lie. His presentation was titled “Election 2024: The Craziest One in our Lifetimes.

Read more about the event.

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from Pest Management Professional https://www.mypmp.net/2024/05/28/upfda-keynote-david-crow-talks-2024-presidential-election/
Sacramento CA

Kness: Ketch-All

PHOTO: KNESS

PHOTO: KNESS

The Ketch-All was born 100 years ago when an Iowa school janitor fashioned a square oil can, a Tuxedo Tobacco tin, a spring from a curtain rod, and wood from the base of a crate into a mousetrap. When he set it up overnight, it was found the next day with seven mice inside.

Today, you can find the latest iteration of that oil-can-tobacco-tin-curtain-rod invention, nowadays referred to as the Ketch-All. The company that bears the last name of the Ketch-All inventor, Austin Enos “Brick” Kness, has now been trusted for more than a century: Kness Pest Defense.

The innovative design and reliable performance of the Ketch-All live catch mouse trap earned it the title of the “World’s Best Mousetrap,” the company says. The Ketch-All was thoughtfully designed to trap the whole family of mice without using bait or rodenticide. This simple, no-kill mousetrap works every time and is made from durable galvanized steel for years of use. Ketch-All is made in the USA and is backed by a one-year limited warranty.

About Kness Pest Defense

Similar to the company’s longevity, Kness’ line of reusable, professional-grade products are known to be proven, durable, and produced from high-grade materials. Each product is thoroughly hand-tested per the company’s rigorous quality control processes. A less-than-1-percent product return rate exemplifies Kness’ commitment to quality.

To celebrate the company’s century milestone, Kness has developed a celebratory landing page containing historical facts and content that can be viewed at Kness.com/100-years. Throughout 2024, the company will be promoting its rich history and success stories across all marketing touchpoints.

Kness.com

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from Pest Management Professional https://www.mypmp.net/2024/05/28/kness-ketch-all/
Sacramento CA

Sunday, May 26, 2024

B&G Equipment: PTT

IMAGE: B&G EQUIPMENT

IMAGE: B&G EQUIPMENT

Power up your pest control efficiency — and stop wasting time pumping! The B&G Pressurizing Tank Top (PTT) easily integrates with your B&G Primeline tanks, replacing the pump for uninterrupted application (25-30 psi). This innovative upgrade saves you 5 minutes per gallon and reduces fatigue. The long-lasting, rechargeable battery delivers power for up to 4 hours (27-30 gallons) and automatically recharges, keeping you productive. Fast initial pressurization (2.5 minutes) and a car charger for on-the-go power top off the convenience. Maximize uptime, minimize fatigue, and focus on what matters: your clients.

About B&G Equipment

B&G Equipment, a Pelsis brand, has set the standard in professional-grade pest control, vector control, disinfection and industrial equipment since 1949, starting with the introduction of its iconic Primeline Sprayer. This industry icon was created by Pest Management Professional Hall of Famer Bill Brehm (Class of 1998) and George Gilmore while students at Purdue University, with their initials serving as the company name.

Today, B&G Equipment serves industry experts world-wide with a complete line of sprayers, foggers, aerosols, foamers, modular systems and dusters for use in commercial, industrial and residential settings.

About Pelsis

Founded in 1984, Pelsis is based in Knaresborough, North Yorkshire, England, and operates from 18 locations worldwide. With distribution centers in the UK, Spain, Belgium, Netherlands, Denmark and the USA, plus a number of global logistics partners, Pelsis supplies customers in more than 80 countries. Its family of brands for the professional pest management industry and related industries include AgriSense, B&G Equipment, Bird-B-Gone, Brandenburg, Curtis Dyna-Fog, Denka International, Edialux Professional Products, GreenProtect, Insect-O-Cutor, Luxan, Network, P+L Systems, Pest-Stop, Silvandersson and Synergetic.

BGEquip.com

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from Pest Management Professional https://www.mypmp.net/2024/05/27/bg-equipment-ptt/
Sacramento CA

Friday, May 24, 2024

Protect bees, butterflies when applying pesticides

Dr. Jamel Sandidge, BCE

Dr. Jamel Sandidge, BCE

One of the most important aspects of controlling mosquitoes is protecting pollinators. When we see the beautiful riot of colors of flowering perennial and annual blooms, it provides obvious signs to avoid the area because pollinators will be nearby.

However, one major factor to remember is that weeds, trees and vines also have flowers that are frequently visited by many different groups of pollinators. Clover, dandelion, henbit, nettle, chickweed and many other common lawn weeds are common sources of pollen and nectar. Such lawn weeds often serve as the first available vital food source used by pollinators in the early months of spring.

There are many different types of flowers. Many trees, weeds and other plants have flowers known as inflorescences. These can be difficult to identify because they may be small clusters of tiny flowers that bloom over time, instead of larger, solitary flower heads that all bloom in a short time window.

It is also critical to think ahead. When treating areas with weeds, consider when they will bloom and how this could this impact pollinators.

When applying pesticides, remember what to do: Protect the bees and butterflies, because weeds have flowers, too!

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from Pest Management Professional https://www.mypmp.net/2024/05/24/protect-bees-butterflies-when-applying-pesticides/
Sacramento CA

Liphatech: Block Party

IMAGE: LIPHATECH

IMAGE: LIPHATECH

Now through June 30, 2024, earn instant savings off units of Liphatech mini block products with a purchase, including Generation mini blocks, BlueMax mini blocks, Maki mini blocks and TakeDown II mini blocks.

The more units of Generation, BlueMax, Maki and TakeDown II purchased, the bigger the savings. Pest management professionals (PMPs) can instantly receive $10 off per case of four 4-pound bags of Generation purchased; $10 off per 16-pound pail of Generation, BlueMax or Maki bait purchased; and $5 off per 4-pound bag of TakeDown II purchased. There is no limit on the amount purchased, and multiple purchases are allowed.

Liphatech’s family of mini blocks gives PMPs choices and solutions to effectively control rodents amidst a variety of infestation scenarios. Generation, BlueMax and Maki mini blocks are formulated with second-generation anticoagulants, while TakeDown II mini blocks harness the power of an acute rodenticide.

Liphatech’s “Block Party” is open to PMPs in the U.S. who purchase from the following Liphatech distributors: Agri-Turf, Bug Off, BWI, Carolina PCO, Chemtech, Essco, Forshaw, Helena, Heritage, Oldham, Pest Management Supply, Pro Pest Products, SiteOne, Target or Veseris.

About Liphatech

With U.S. headquarters based in Milwaukee, Wis., Liphatech is a worldwide manufacturer of pest control products. It is considered to be the developer of three of the industry’s active ingredients: chlorophacinone, bromadiolone and difethialone. The company was founded in France in 1946 io develop anticoagulants for the treatment of heart patients. It developed chlorophacinone in the 1960s and branded it as Rozol, a family of products that includes grain and pelleted products for field and structural use, and a tracking powder for use in and around structures. In the 1970s, Liphatech developed bromadiolone, its original second-generation rodenticide active ingredient.

The innovations continued with the opening of its U.S. facility in 1987. Research there and in Europe resulted in the discovery of difethialone during the late 1980s, with U.S. Environmental Protection Agency registration as an active ingredient in 1995.

Liphatech.com

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from Pest Management Professional https://www.mypmp.net/2024/05/24/liphatech-block-party/
Sacramento CA

Thursday, May 23, 2024

Bed bug ID and prevention

Photo: animatedfunk/E+/Getty Images

Photo: animatedfunk/E+/Getty Images

Bed bugs (Cimex lectularius) survive by feeding on the blood of warm-blooded creatures, including humans, and contributed to a significant increase in global infestations in recent years1. Their elusive nature, hiding in concealed cracks, crevices, and voids, makes them challenging to eradicate. Moreover, they exhibit remarkable survival abilities, enduring extended periods without feeding, lasting from four to 18 months depending on environmental conditions2. Alarmingly, the resurgence of bed bugs globally has underscored their resistance to many commonly used insecticides3.

While bed bugs do not transmit infectious pathogens, their bites can inflict significant discomfort, leading to financial losses and a diminished quality of life. Infestations also carry psychological and social ramifications — causing stress, anxiety and sleep disturbances among affected individuals4. Consequently, addressing bed bug infestations promptly and effectively is crucial to mitigate their negative impact. Early detection and intervention play vital roles in preventing their spread and minimizing adverse effects.

Accurate identification of bed bugs is crucial for effective prevention and management. Adult bed bugs are oval-shaped, flat and typically measure less than 0.25 inch long. Nymphs resemble adults, but are smaller. They are initially nearly colorless, gradually developing a brownish hue as they mature. Female bed bugs lay white, sticky, pear-shaped eggs, each approximately 0.03125 of an inch long, in concealed areas such as cracks, crevices or voids in mattresses, box springs, furniture, walls and ceilings.

Unlike mosquitoes, fleas or midges, both adult bed bugs and their immature stages are bloodsuckers2. Confusion may arise between bed bugs and bat bugs (C. pilosellus) because of their visual similarities. However, a distinguishing feature becomes evident under a stereoscope with magnification between 20x and 50x: The fringe hairs on the pronotum (the upper covering of the thorax) of the bat bug are as long as or longer than the width of the bug’s eye, whereas they are shorter in bed bugs5. This microscopic difference is crucial for accurate species identification, as treatments for bat bugs significantly differ from those for bed bugs. Therefore, precise identification is essential for effective management.

Prevention considerations

Understanding the mechanisms of bed bug spread is crucial for preventing infestations. These pests can actively traverse walls, ceilings and doorways, and they often hitchhike on clothing or infested items. Gravid females, frequently found apart from groups, play a significant role in their dispersal6. Human activities, such as breathing and emitting chemical signals resembling occupancy, affect their movement, particularly in multi-housing environments7.

However, if hosts are absent for an extended period, as in the case of vacant apartments, bed bugs may reduce their search activity to conserve energy8, it’s essential to educate oneself and others about bed bugs’ characteristics and behaviors because not all bites are caused by them4. Preventive measures like inspecting belongings during travel, carefully checking secondhand furniture before bringing it home, and properly disposing of infested items are crucial. Additionally, reducing clutter and sealing cracks are vital steps in prevention.

Using approved encasements for mattresses and box springs can also strengthen prevention efforts. Regular inspections, monitoring and timely intervention are essential for effective management in both commercial and residential settings1,2,3.

Timely identification, comprehensive understanding of behaviors, and proactive preventive measures are imperative for the effective management of bed bug infestations and mitigating their impact on human health and well-being.

References

  1. Potter, M.F. (2008). “The business of bed bugs,” Pest Management Professional. 76(1): 24-40
  2. Usinger RL, 1966. Monograph of Cimicidae, College Park, Md.: Thomas Say Foundation, Entomological Society of America. vol. 7.
  3. González-Morales, M.A., Devries, Z., Sierras, A., Santangelo, R.G., Kakumanu, M.L., and Schal, C. (2021). “Resistance to Fipronil in the Common Bed Bug (Hemiptera: Cimicidae).” Journal of Medical Entomology, 58(4), 1798-1807. https://doi.org/10.1093/jme/tjab040 and Romero, A., M.F. Potter, D.A. Potter and K.F. Haynes. (2007), “Insecticide Resistance in the Bed Bug: A Factor in the Pest’s Sudden Resurgence?” Journal of Medical Entomology, Volume 44, Issue 2, 1 March 2007, Pages 175–178, https://doi.org/10.1093/jmedent/44.2.175
  4. Doggett, S.L., Dwyer, D.E., Peñas, P.F., and Russell, R. C. (2012). “Bed bugs: clinical relevance and control options.” Clinical Microbiology Reviews, 25(1), 164-192.
  5. US Department of Health, Education, and Welfare. 1969. “Pictorial keys to arthropods, reptiles, birds, and mammals of public health significance.” Centers for Disease Control, Atlanta, Ga.
  6. Goddard, J., Caprio, M., and Goddard Jerome, I. (2015). “Diffusion rates and dispersal patterns of unfed versus recently fed bed bugs (Cimex lectularius L.).” Insects, 6(4), 792–804. https://doi.org 10.3390/insects6040792 and Hentley W.T., Webster B., Evison S.E.F., and Siva-Jothy M.T. (2017). “Bed bug aggregation on dirty laundry: a mechanism for passive dispersal.” Sci. Rep. 7: 11668 and Pfiester, M., Koehler, P.G., and Pereira, R.M. (2009). “Effect of population structure and size on aggregation behavior of Cimex lectularius (Hemiptera: Cimicidae).” Journal of Medical Entomology, 46(5), 1015–1020. https://doi.org/10.1603/033.046.0506
  7. Suchy, J.T. and Lewis, V.R. (2011). “Host-seeking behavior in the bed bug, Cimex lectularius.” Insects, 2, 22–35. http://doi.org/10.3390/insects2010022 and Wang, D., C. Wang, N. Singh, A.L. Eiden, R. Cooper and C. Zha. (2017). “Effect of feeding history and time elapsed from field collection on the movement behavior and response to stimulation in Cimex lectularius (Hemiptera: Cimicidae).” Journal of Economic Entomology. 110: 1719–1727. http://www.doi.org/10.1093/jee/tox148
  8. Romero, A., M.F. Potter and K.F. Haynes. (2010). “Circadian rhythm of locomotor activity in the bed bug, Cimex lectularius L.” J. Insect Physiol. 56: 1516-1522.

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Sacramento CA

Cicadas emerge again, make their presence known

Cicadas are back in the news. This time, it’s Brood XIX, which has a 13-year life cycle, and Brood XIII, which has a 17-year life cycle.

PHOTO: Peggy Greb, USDA-ARS, public domain image

Photo: Peggy Greb, USDA-ARS, public domain image

That’s right, these two broods are simultaneously making their way out of the ground, an event that last occurred in 1803. Although the cicadas will be prevalent in several Midwest and Southeast states, Illinois may be the only state where the two broods will emerge at the same time and place, USA Today reports.

Expect to find Brood XIX cicadas in Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia. Expect to see Brood XIII cicadas in Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan and Wisconsin. They likely will make their presence known from May through June.

These broods are periodical cicadas, meaning they have 13- or 17-year life cycles. Periodical cicadas undergo five juvenile stages while underground, and feed on fluids from roots. Their bodies are green and brown, or green and black, and they are about 0.75 to 1.5 inches long. They differ from annual cicadas, which occur every year. Annual cicadas have black bodies, red eyes and wings with orange veins. At approximately 1.5 to 2.5 inches long, they are slightly larger.

Cicadas are not pests, however customers may contact you thinking pest management professionals (PMPs) can help remove them from structures, should they find their way indoors. Media reports say people in their path will experience an “invasion” a “cicadapocalypse” and “billions” and “trillions” of cicadas this spring.

While it’s difficult to predict the number of cicadas that will actually emerge, there’s no doubt you will hear them when they do. Adult male cicadas produce species-specific “songs” and form “choruses” to attract female cicadas. Male cicadas alternate “singing” with short flights until they find their female cicada mates. The sound they make are almost always species-specific, so cicada species can be identified by their sound.

When customers ask, assure them that cicadas:

  • Are not poisonous or venomous
  • Do not transmit disease
  • Do not sting or bite
  • Typically fly away when approached
  • Emerge from underground when the soil temperature rises to about 64 degrees Fahrenheit
  • Shed their shells and develop wings
  • When newly hatched, will burrow about two feet underground and remain there for the next 17 years if it is Brood XIII or 13 years if it is Brood XIX

Some South Carolina residents called police when they experienced the sounds cicadas make, AccuWeather reported. The noise complaints were taken in stride, as callers were advised they were simply hearing “the sounds of nature.”

For additional interesting cicada facts and fun, check out Orkin’s “Orkinstra,” featuring sounds of cicadas and taking place June 8.

Sources: Illinois Department of Natural Resources, University of Connecticut, The Nature Conservancy

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Sacramento CA

Virtual educational series covers pest control sales strategies

A virtual training course covering pest control sales and offering personalized feedback is designed to elevate success, whether attendees are seasoned professionals or just starting out.

The Pest Control Sales Masterclass is an intensive six-week virtual training course featuring proven sales strategies tailored specifically to the pest management industry. Interactive sessions are aimed at honing sales skills and addressing real-world challenges.

Foster Brusca

Foster Brusca

The course is open to eight participants to ensure maximum interaction and value. Foster Brusca, co-owner of The Pest Posse, author, veteran sales professional, and Pest Management Professional (PMP) columnist and Editorial Advisory Board member, will provide an in-depth exploration of key concepts from his best-selling book, “Fundamentals of Pest Control.”

The first class begins at 4:00 p.m. EST on May 29, and classes will continue every Wednesday through July 3. Registration is now open; click here for details.

Each class is designed to equip attendees with the knowledge and techniques necessary to excel in pest control sales. It will offer insights and strategies that will elevate performance and drive success. In addition, Brusca will offer personalized feedback and guidance based on his expertise and passion for pest control.

With more than 30 years of experience in the pest control industry, Brusca has become a powerhouse in sales, consistently exceeding targets and delighting clients with his expertise. He worked his way up from the ground floor of pest control companies to eventually performing pest control sales with unprecedented success. His achievements included being the first salesperson at the pest control company he worked for to sell $500,000 in commercial services in one year, as well as selling over $1 million in commercial services in one year. Brusca’s approach to sales is rooted in authenticity and a deep understanding of customer needs, which allows him to forge meaningful connections and drive business growth.

Brusca also hosts the “Today’s PMP” podcast with Diane Sofranec, PMP’s senior editor. New episodes are available twice a month on Pest Posse TV. The series shares the latest developments in the pest control industry, and takes a sneak peek at what will be inside the latest issue.

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Sacramento CA

Wednesday, May 22, 2024

PMP earns national, regional ‘Awards of Excellence’

IMAGE: NORTH COAST MEDIA

IMAGE: NORTH COAST MEDIA

This week, it was announced that Pest Management Professional (PMP) earned four national and six regional Azbee Awards of Excellence from the American Society of Business Publication Editors (ASBPE).

The ASBPE recognizes editorial, design and online content excellence for business-to-business (B2B), trade, association and professional media. The organization’s annual Azbee Awards of Excellence competition is open to all U.S.-based publications.

At the Azbee Awards of Excellence held during the ASBPE’s virtual conference, PMP received four national awards:

PMP also received six Heartland Region Azbee Awards:

  • Gold Azbee Award, Heartland Region — Design / Front Cover, Illustration category for PMP’s 2024 State of the Industry Report gracing its November 2023 issue cover.
  • Gold Azbee Award, Heartland Region— Print / State of the Industry category for PMP’s 2024 State of the Industry Report published as a special supplement in its November 2023 issue.
  • Gold Azbee Award, Heartland Region — Design / Front Cover, Photo category for Ant Control: New tips, technologies and trends for this pervasive pest, featured on PMP’s June 2023 issue cover.
  • Silver Azbee Award, Heartland Region — Design / Front Cover, Typographic category for its LABOR PAINS December 2023 issue cover.
  • Bronze Azbee Award, Heartland Region — Design / Publication Redesign category for PMP’s 2023 Redesign, a 90th birthday gift from parent company North Coast Media to the B2B media brand’s readers and marketing partners.
  • Bronze Azbee Award, Heartland Region — Special Issue or Supplement category for PMP’s 90th Anniversary Issue, published in October 2023.

Since 2014, PMP has earned 76 Azbee Awards of Excellence from ASBPE. Launched in 1964, the professional association’s members include full-time and freelance editors, writers, art directors and graphic designers who work for business, trade and specialty publications.

Pest Management Professional (PMP) has served as pest control’s most trusted technical resource since 1933. PMP captivates its audience — via print and digital media and live events — with its unique brand of industry INFOtainment. PMP educates pest management professionals (PMPs) through: species identification and control tips; updates on emerging business obstacles, opportunities and tools; and news regarding control technologies, techniques and regulations.

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Sacramento CA

Abell celebrates its centennial

In 1924, from humble beginnings in the basement and garage of his home in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, Earl Abell founded pesticide manufacturer Waverly Chemical Co. In the 100 years since, the company, today known as Abell Pest Control, has grown into a North American leader in pest control services.

Earl’s vision was carried forward by his son Ralph, who led the company from 1945 to 1985. To commemorate Abell’s centennial year, Ralph’s son John and granddaughter Liz, along with President Brett MacKillop, visited each Abell office, sharing stories, memories and gratitude with employees who have contributed to the company’s growth and success.

On their tour of branches spanning across Canada and the United States, the trio engaged each team in meaningful initiatives aimed at giving back. From planting trees to volunteering at food banks, and assembling care packages for shelters, the company has demonstrated its dedication to making a positive impact where its employees live and work.

PHOTO: ABELL PEST CONTROL

PHOTO: ABELL PEST CONTROL

LEADERS ON TOUR John Abell, Liz Abell and Brett MacKillop kicked off company-wide celebrations in Fraser Valley, British Columbia, Canada.

 

PHOTO: ABELL PEST CONTROL

PHOTO: ABELL PEST CONTROL

SPREADING THE LOVE During the Feb. 12 tour stop at the Kelowna, British Columbia, branch, John Abell, left, and Brett MacKillop joined in on creating heartfelt Valentine’s Day cards for residents of long-term care homes.

 

Please Fill Out The Following Fields.

Please Fill Out The Following Fields.

GIVING BACK TO COMMUNITIES During the 100th Celebration Tour, Abell teams across the company actively engaged in community service projects. Above, the team at the Kelowna branch packed food boxes for the charity Food 4U.

 

PHOTO: ABELL PEST CONTROL

PHOTO: ABELL PEST CONTROL

THE MOST IMPORTANT PART: CAKE! Branch Manager Ezra James and Liz Abell ready the cake for the team during the March 25 tour stop in Parma, Ohio.

 

PHOTO: ABELL PEST CONTROL

PHOTO: ABELL PEST CONTROL

INDUSTRY INSIGHTS At each tour stop, such as this one on March 7 in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada, John Abell provided comprehensive updates on the company’s future direction. He also conducted a series of workshops with branch managers, fostering interactive discussions to drive innovation and collaboration within the organization.

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from Pest Management Professional https://www.mypmp.net/2024/05/22/abell-celebrates-its-centennial/
Sacramento CA

J.T. Eaton: Stick-Em Mini Mighty Glue Boards

IMAGE: J.T. EATON

IMAGE: J.T. EATON

New Stick-Em Mini Mighty Glue Boards (154BULK) are an easy, effective, no-mess way to control mice, scorpions and crawling insects. These glue traps can be used like heavy-duty glue trays or glue boards without the hassle of release paper, the company says. The traps are perforated so they can be used as two larger boards or four smaller boards.

The company offers placement tips such as:

  • Place every 6 feet to better your chances, such as in cabinets, behind furniture, near household entry points, sides of garage doors, in attics and crawlspaces or basements are all common hot spots.
  • Also place them where rats or mice may run, such as along walls, the sides of the refrigerator and stove, behind washers and dryers, etc.

Ideal for people-sensitive areas such as homes, apartments and more, the traps are easily disposed of after use. They are available packed 24 to a case, 234 to a pallet.

About J.T. Eaton

Founded in East Cleveland, Ohio, in 1932 by Jasper T. Eaton as a mail-order house for pest control products for professional use, J.T. Eaton was brought to prominence when Pest Management Professional (PMP) Hall of Famer Stanley Baker (Class of 1999) purchased it in 1949 for $2,500. In the first year, Baker did $35,000 worth of business. And before his death in 2005 at the age of 87, he built it up to a multi-million-dollar company. Baker was a lifelong innovator, and is credited for creating the paraffin rodent bait block in 1962. He is also credited with developing the modern glue board design, in 1980. In 1999, he helped patent an ant and cockroach product that uses just 1 percent boric acid.

Still family-owned and -operated by the Baker family in Twinsburg, Ohio, J.T. Eaton’s product line includes products for rodents, wildlife, bed bugs, mosquitoes and other flying insects and more.

JTEaton.com

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Sacramento CA

Tuesday, May 21, 2024

Unified Purchasing Group: Exclusive Discounts

IMAGE: UNIFIED PURCHASING GROUP

IMAGE: UNIFIED PURCHASING GROUP

UPG members enjoy exclusive discounts on leading brands, including Verizon Wireless, Staples, ADP, UniFirst and more. Simply join the 55,000-plus other smart businesses already saving money with the power of group purchasing. Becoming a UPG member is free and easy, and there are no purchasing minimums or obligations.

About UPG

Unified Purchasing Group (UPG) is a group purchasing organization, otherwise known as a “GPO.” UPG combines the purchasing power of collective businesses to leverage better pricing, improved service levels, and dedicated account representation from suppliers. Leveraging a GPO increases your buying power and can simplify your procurement processes. The wide-reaching network and negotiating power of a GPO is challenging for an individual procurement professional to match on their own.

A GPO enables the spend from various industries to combine and increase buying power for individual private entities and it works for businesses of all size, from small businesses to large enterprise operations. When you partner with a GPO like UPG and utilize our exclusive contracts, you can grow market share in your industry quickly with no up front costs. It’s free to become a member and there are no long term contracts or purchasing minimums, so you have nothing to lose.

UPG has been a proud supporter of the pest management industry for nearly two decades, and as a long-time sponsor of PestWorld, we are pleased to help pest management professionals across the country save money. We partner with brands you know and trust to bring you savings on the products and services you need to run your business. UPG has more than 50,000 companies who are using their free membership to secure exclusive discounts to lower their spend and increase their competitive edge in today’s market.

Visit online today to increase your organization’s purchasing power and save.

UPG.org

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Sacramento CA

KPIs prove the power of high-price strategies

Image courtesy of Dan Gordon

Dan Gordon, CPA

In a world of cutthroat competition, it’s tempting to think the key to success lies in undercutting your rivals and being the cheapest option. However, this approach is a race to the bottom.

The other day, one of my clients told me a competitor was bidding on a large account against him. He wanted to know how low he could go in terms of pricing to win the contract.

Plan for profits

While I’ve heard this many times before, and we always emphasize selling value, the reality is certain customers always will take the cheapest option. As an entrepreneur, I realize it is counterintuitive to not take on new business. But I would add a caveat to that by saying you always want to take on new business on your terms, which includes congruency with your profit objectives.

Low-balling may boost sales, but it also will lead to a damaging cycle of eroding profits and brand devaluation. A strategic focus on selling at higher prices, when executed correctly, will yield better financial results.

Let’s look at the numbers, as they don’t lie:

Immediate key performance indicator (KPI) betterment by selling at premium pricing:

  • Gross profit margin: (Revenue – Cost of Goods Sold)/Revenue. This reflects profitability at the basic production level.
  • Operating profit margin: (Revenue – Operating Expenses)/Revenue. This broader view includes overhead costs, demonstrating business efficiency.
  • Net profit margin: (Revenue – All Expenses)/Revenue. This is the overall profitability “left over” after all costs.
    Higher prices boost all these margins, especially if production costs don’t increase in proportion.

Longer-term KPI betterment by selling at premium pricing:

  • Customer lifetime value: How much revenue does a single customer generate for your business over your entire relationship? High-value customers are attracted to superior offerings and are more likely to be repeat buyers, increasing their lifetime value. Action point: Focus on quality over the cheapest price point to dramatically increase customer lifetime value.
  • Customer acquisition cost: What is your cost of acquiring a new customer? Premium products and services often appeal to a niche audience. This allows for targeted marketing and sales efforts, which can lower your acquisition cost as a percentage of revenue. Example: My cost per sale is $100. If my sale price is $400, then my cost per acquisition is 25 percent. If my sale price is $500, then my cost per acquisition is 20 percent. Action point: Increase your prices; lower your cost per acquisition.
  • Return on investment (ROI): This measures the efficiency of any investment. Investing in creating a premium value proposition (through superior product development, marketing, branding, etc.) generates a return over time. High-price models allow for greater investment for more ROI potential, compared to the razor-thin margins of budget options. Action point: If you are willing to accept a low ROI, stick your money in the bank or buy treasury bills. Rates are currently about 4 percent to 5 percent and are a lot less risky than being in business. Best-in-class pest management professionals earn 20 percent or better to ownership. If you take the risk of being in business, don’t work on razor-thin margins. There are much easier and less risky alternatives to earning a lower ROI.

Stay focused

While price-sensitive shoppers always will exist, breaking free from price wars can be a lucrative and sustainable strategy. By focusing on value, differentiating yourself, and delivering an exceptional customer experience, you can proudly sell at higher prices than your competitors — and build a more resilient and successful business.

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Sacramento CA

Monday, May 20, 2024

Clark Pest Control expands in southern California

LOGO: CLARK PEST CONTROL

Lodi, Calif.-based Clark Pest Control of Stockton Inc., a Rollins Inc. brand, has purchased Nexgen Exterminating Inc.

Nexgen was formed in 2019 and has purchased several southern California-based pest management providers, including American Exterminator Co., Buzzoff Exterminating, Canyon Lake Pest Control, Gordon Termite Control and Sunwest Exterminating. Nexgen’s coverage includes a large area of the Southland, including all of Los Angeles and Orange counties and portions of San Bernardino and Riverside counties. In addition to its Anaheim, Calif.-based headquarters, Nexgen has a satellite office in Murrieta, Calif.

“Finding the right company to be part of the team was especially important to me, not only for our customers but our employees,” Brian Patrick MacQueen, CEO and president of Nexgen Exterminating, said in the news release. “Our employees will be able to enhance their knowledge and expertise with Clark Pest Control. I will also be joining the Clark Pest Control team, and I am extremely excited about the opportunity with them.”

“We are super excited for the growth in one of our emerging markets,” said Brad Parker, Clark Pest Control’s corporate development director, mergers and acquisitions. “We love the employee culture at Nexgen and feel their team is going to be a great addition to our Southern California branches.”

About Clark Pest Control

Founded in 1950 by Charlie Clark, Clark Pest Control of Stockton has grown from one man with a truck in Stockton, Calif., to one of California’s largest pest management providers, with a network of 28 regional service centers around the state and an additional service center in northwest Nevada. The company offers innovative pest management, termite control, mosquito control, lawn fertilization, weed control, bird exclusion, bed bug remediation, burrowing rodent solutions, and disinfecting services for commercial accounts and residential customers. In 2019, the company became part of the Rollins Specialty Brands family, a division of Rollins Inc., based in Atlanta, Ga.

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Sacramento CA

Put safety first in fleet management

Photo: Tero Vesalainen / iStock / Getty Images Plus / Getty Images

Photo: Tero Vesalainen / iStock / Getty Images Plus / Getty Images

In a world where our roads are often fraught with distractions, the imperative of safety in fleet management has never been more paramount.

Recently, Culley Christensen and I co-hosted a Pest Posse TV livestream to dissect the pressing issue of distracted driving, unearthing its profound implications on road safety. We were joined by guest Erin Gilchrist, vice president of “fleet evangelism” at IntelliShift, a Commack, N.Y.-based fleet management software provider.

Our discussion didn’t just scratch the surface. It delved deep into the core of the matter.

Emphasize safety

With more than two decades of hands-on experience in fleet management under her belt, Gilchrist embodies a relentless commitment to safety. She started the discussion by framing distracted driving as any activity that diverts attention from the primary task of driving — be it the lure of a smartphone, a quick bite, or even a wandering mind. It’s not just about the individual behind the wheel; it’s about safeguarding everyone sharing the road.

Gilchrist pulled no punches in asserting that vehicles, often perceived as mundane tools of the trade, are in fact among the most dangerous assets entrusted to employees by organizations. It’s a call for organizations to instill a safety-first attitude, embedding comprehensive policies that clearly condemn distractions while driving. But it doesn’t end with policy. It’s about fostering a culture where safety isn’t an afterthought, but a way of life.

Attitude shift

Our conversation went beyond mere rhetoric; it turned into a blueprint for action. Gilchrist advocates for the integration of cutting-edge technologies such as telematics and dashcams to bolster safer driving practices. These aren’t just fancy gadgets; they’re indispensable shields, fortifying both drivers and organizations against the looming threat of liability.

Yet, amid the technology lies a fundamental truth: Policies alone won’t suffice. They must be part of an organizational culture, constantly evolving, and communicated regularly. It’s a delicate dance between safety and productivity, where undue pressure risks tip
the scales toward disaster.

Gilchrist’s parting words resonate as a clarion call to conscience: “Safety isn’t a checkbox on a compliance form. It’s about nurturing a collective mindfulness where every employee, from the owner to the service technicians, embraces their role as guardians of safety. It implores organizations to embrace safety not as an obligation, but as an investment in the well-being of their employees, their communities, and society at large.”

Watch the full Pest Posse TV livestream with Gilchrist discussing the topic of distracted driving at PestPosseTV.com/programs/distracted-driving-awareness.


PHOTO: THE PEST POSSE

PHOTO: THE PEST POSSE

Tune into Pest Posse TV

June topics include:

  • June 3: Livestream: Managing dogs at your customer accounts
  • June 10: Discovering Spectrum 3D products
  • June 17: Developing an in-house entomology department
  • June 24: What is IGI CO2 Powered by Liphatech?

Watch all this and more at PestPosseTV.com

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Sacramento CA